DR. LARS DITTMANN

Photoart_0083-CV-I.jpg

Leadership experience

As a manager, I have over 14 years of experience in equipment manufacturing and industrial production with functional expertise in the areas of General & Operations Management, Continuous Improvement & Lean, Quality, Business Processes and Operational Excellence.
 

Industry know-how

I was mainly active in the high voltage switchgear market, but also as a senior consultant, program and project manager in the finance & IT sector, in utility companies, as well as in education and management consulting.
 

Methodological competence

I learned the management consulting trade in a leading global consulting company and the scientific, data-based approach at the University of St. Gallen. I understand technical relationships very quickly thanks to my technical diploma from TU Darmstadt. I am constantly learning and teaching as a lecturer at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences.
 

Personality

As a balanced character, I act prudently and responsibly. I have a passion for organizational development, for developing teams, talents and individuals. I bring my teams together with my enthusiasm for new customer requests, products, technologies and processing systems. When it comes to implementation, I act decisively, resiliently and sustainably, and trusting clients and all stake holders is important to me.

 

MY EXPERIENCES

We believe we have experiences, but experiences make us. (Eugène Ionesco)

SET UP CROSS LOCATIONS OPERATION FUNCTION

The new regional management level of the high voltage products division introduced a new Quality and Operations function. Our responsibility was to monitor and improve the performance of several production sites in six countries. The core element was the monthly review cycle, which we newly introduced. My task was to set up the review agenda based on
+QDIP as well as the implementation, the follow-ups and the corrective measures. As a result, the quality and safety culture were improved as well as the on-time delivery through clear guidelines and binding priorities. The +QDIP approach is cascaded down to the production line as an integral part of the daily shop floor management.

SETTING UP A NEW PROFIT CENTER

The gas-insulated switchgear business unit was about to introduce a new product line with a radically changed value chain and a new processing system: conversion from engineer-to-order to configure-to-order and from standalone production to flow production. It was my job to separate a new profit center from the existing unit. We achieved break even for the new product line and a reduction in lead time from 2 weeks to one day.

DEVELOPMENT OF A NEW REGIONAL QUALITY FUNCTION

My task was to build a new regional quality function with the corresponding processes, systems and a progressive team culture. I established the regional processes and standards, which were recorded in a jointly documented quality manual. This manual was also used in other regions and became the basis for a quality system that was applied in practice. Cross-location quality cases could be resolved in half the time compared to the previous isolated set-up. The team approach led to drastically reduced quality cases and a halving of quality costs (Cost of Poor Quality). Cross-location learning and mutual fertilization should be seen as the greatest lever for improving performance.

INTRODUCING CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT AND LEAN

I had the opportunity to introduce continuous improvement and lean approaches both as operations manager and as a regional and local staff function at a global conglomerate. My experience is that change management is the greatest challenge. My assignment as a line manager was most effective when I worked bit by bit on the lean culture in the daily shop floor rounds and thus gradually subjected the organization to a change. The main successes are reduced quality costs, improved on-time delivery, reduced lead times, production areas, stocks and costs.

SAP INTRODUCTION

The local branch of an industrial conglomerate reduced the number of SAP systems in the country from 12 to 3. Our unit was the pilot for the new master system. The challenge was to adapt best practice processes that were created for the entire country organization. I managed the user organization with 16 sub-project managers, 70 project employees and 700 users. A main responsibility was to report the go / no-go readiness to the steering committee. A great deal was at stake because the high weekly project costs had to be assessed against the risk of a complete or partial system failure after go-live. Ultimately, we had a system start without business interruptions and a good pilot running under the conditions of a very tight timeline.

 

WHAT BUSINESS PARTNERS, EMPLOYEES, COLLEAGUES AND SUPERVISORS SAY ABOUT ME

Foto Alex Kara.jpg

CEO NKT A/S at NKT

ALEXANDER KARA

Even in conflicting situations, Lars Dittmann manages to bundle the various interests and move everyone to take a common approach. He is empathetic and has cultural sensitivity to meet employees, team colleagues and superiors where they are.

 

PUBLICATIONS

Anyone who has expertise should also share it

Deutscher Universitäts-Verlag. Doctorate at University of St.Gallen, HSG

Lars Dittmann defines and operationalizes visibility in the Auto-ID context and develops a holistic explanatory model that includes strategic and normative aspects in addition to the specific RFID business case.

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Long before the animal welfare label and many other scandals, this newspaper article addresses the gaps in the quality systems and calls for monitoring with bite.

Workshop proceedings, Technical University Berlin

AMetaCar: a Mediated eCommerce Solution for the Used Car Market. With a pioneering spirit, two students design the structure of a meta search engine.


MORE TO COME ...


 

GET IN TOUCH

Contact me

Thanks for submitting!

DR. LARS DITTMANN

Photoart_0083-CV-I.jpg

Führungserfahrung

Als Führungskraft habe ich über 14 Jahre Erfahrung im Anlagenbau und in der Industrieproduktion mit funktionaler Expertise in den Bereichen General & Operations Management, Kontinuierliche Verbesserung & Lean, Qualität, Geschäftsprozesse und Operational Excellence.


Branchen-Knowhow

Ich war hauptsächlich im Markt für Hochspannungsschaltanlagen tätig, aber auch als Senior Consultant, Programm und Projekt Manager im Finanz- & IT-Sektor, in Versorgungsunternehmen sowie im Bildungsbereich und der Management-Beratung.


Methoden-Kompetenz

Das Management-Beratungs-Handwerk habe ich in einer führenden globalen Consulting Firma gelernt und das wissenschaftliche, daten-basierte Vorgehen an der Universität St. Gallen. Technische Zusammenhänge begreife ich sehr schnell durch meine solide Grundausbildung an der TU Darmstadt. Ich bilde mich laufend weiter und unterrichte als Dozent an der Zürich Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften.


Persönlichkeit

Als ausgeglichener Charakter agiere ich besonnen und verantwortungsvoll. Ich habe Leidenschaft für Organisationsentwicklung, für die Entwicklung von Teams, Talenten und Individuen. Mit meiner Begeisterungsfähigkeit für neue Kundenwünsche, Produkte, Technologien und Abwicklungssysteme bringe ich meine Teams zusammen. In der Umsetzung handle ich entschieden, resilient und nachhaltig, dabei ist mir ein vertrauensvoller Umgang mit den Auftraggebern und allen Stake-Holdern wichtig.

 

MEINE ERFAHRUNGEN

Wir glauben, Erfahrungen zu machen, aber die Erfahrungen machen uns. (Eugène Ionesco)

AUFBAU STRANDORTÜBERGREIFENDE OPERATIONS FUNKTION

Die neue regionale Führungsebene der Division Hochspannungsprodukte hat eine neue Funktion Qualität und Operations eingeführt. Unsere Verantwortung war es, die Performance von mehreren Produktionsstandorten in sechs Ländern zu überwachen und zu verbessern. Das Kernelement dabei ist der monatliche Review-Zyklus, welchen wir neu eingeführt haben. Meine Aufgabe war das Aufsetzen der Review Agenda basierend auf +QDIP sowie die Durchführung, die Follow-ups und die Korrekturmassnahmen. Als Ergebnis wurde die Qualitäts- und Sicherheitskultur verbessert bei gleichzeitig verbesserter On-Time-Delivery durch klare Vorgaben und verbindliche Prioritäten. Der +QDIP Ansatz wird hier bis an die Produktionslinie herunter kaskadiert als integraler Bestandteil des täglichen Shop Floor Managements.

AUFBAU EINES NEUEN PROFIT CENTERS

Die Geschäftseinheit Gasisolierte Schaltanlagen stand vor der Einführung einer neuen Produktlinie mit einer radikal veränderten Wertschöpfungskette und einem neuen Abwicklungssystem: Umstellung von engineer-to-order zu configure-to-order und von Inselfertigung zu Fliessfertigung. Meine Aufgabe war es, ein neues Profit Center aus der bestehenden Einheit herauszulösen. Wir erreichten break even für die neue Produktlinie und eine Durchlaufzeit-Reduktion von 2 Wochen auf einen Tag.

AUFBAU EINER NEUEN REGIONALEN QUALITÄTSFUNKTION

Meine Aufgabe war es, eine neue regionale Qualitätsfunktion mit den entsprechenden Prozessen, Systemen und einer fortschrittlichen Team-Kultur aufzubauen. Ich etablierte die regionalen Prozesse und Standards, welche in einem gemeinsam dokumentierten Qualitätshandbuch festgehalten wurden. Dieses Handbuch kam auch in anderen Regionen zum Einsatz und wurde die Grundlage für ein praktisch angewendetes Qualitätssystem. Standortübergreifende Qualitätsfälle konnten in der Hälfte der Zeit gelöst werden gegenüber dem vorherigen isolierten Set-up. Der Teamansatz führte zu drastisch reduzierten Qualitätsfällen und zu einer Halbierung der Qualitätskosten (Cost of Poor Quality). Das standortübergreifende Lernen und das sich gegenseitige Befruchten ist als grösster Hebel für die Performanz-Verbesserung zu sehen.

EINFÜHRUNG VON KONTINUIERLICHER VERBESSERUNG UND LEAN

Ich hatte die Möglichkeit kontinuierliche Verbesserung und Lean-Ansätze sowohl als Operations-Leiter als auch als regionale und lokale Stabsfunktion bei einem globalen Mischkonzern einzuführen. Meine Erfahrung ist, dass das Veränderungsmanagement (Change-Management) die grösste Herausforderung ist. Mein Einsatz war als Linien-Manager am effektivsten, als ich in den täglichen Shop Floor Runden Stück für Stück an der Lean-Kultur arbeitete und somit die Organisation graduell einem Wandel unterzog. Die Haupterfolge sind reduzierte Qualitätskosten, eine verbesserte On-Time-Delivery, reduzierte Durchlaufzeiten, Produktionsflächen, Bestände und Kosten.

SAP-EINFÜHRUNG

Die ABB Schweiz AG hat die Anzahl der SAP-Systeme im Land von 12 auf 3 reduziert. Unsere Einheit war der Pilot für das neue Master-System. Die Herausforderung war es, Best Practice Prozesse, welche für die ganze Landesorganisation erstellt wurden, zu adaptieren. Ich habe die Anwenderorganisation mit 16 Teilprojekt-Leitern, 70 Projekt-Mitarbeitern und 700 Anwendern geleitet. Eine Hauptverantwortlichkeit war die go-/no-go-readiness an das SteCo zu rapportieren. Es stand sehr viel auf dem Spiel, weil die hohen wöchentlichen Projekt-Kosten gegen das Risiko eines kompletten oder partiellen Systemausfalls nach Go-Live bewertet werde mussten. Letztendlich hatten wir einen Systemstart ohne Geschäftsunterbrüche und einen guten Piloten am Laufen unter den Bedingungen einer sehr engen Zeitlinie.

 

WAS GESCHÄFTSPARTNER, MITARBEITER, KOLLEGEN UND VORGESETZTE ÜBER MICH SAGEN

Foto Alex Kara.jpg

CEO NKT A/S at NKT

ALEXANDER KARA

Auch in konfliktären Situationen schafft es Lars Dittmann, die unterschiedlichen Interessen zu bündeln und alle zu einem gemeinsamen Vorgehen zu bewegen. Er ist empathisch und verfügt über kulturelle Sensitivität, um Mitarbeiter, Team-Kollegen und Vorgesetzte dort abzuholen, wo sie stehen.

 

VERÖFFENTLICHUNGEN

Wer Expertise hat, sollte diese auch teilen

Deutscher Universitäts-Verlag. Promotion an der HSG

Lars Dittmann definiert und operationalisiert Visibilität im Auto-ID-Kontext und erarbeitet ein ganzheitliches Erklärungsmodell, das neben dem konkreten RFID-Business Case auch strategische und normative Aspekte umfasst.

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Noch lange vor Tierwohl-Label und vielen weitern Skandalen thematisiert dieser Zeitungsartikel die Lücken in den Qualitätssystemen und fordert eine Überwachung mit Biss.

Workshop proceedings, Technical University Berlin

AMetaCar: a Mediated eCommerce-Solution for the Used-Car-Market. Mit Pioniergeist entwerfen zwei Studenten die Struktur einer Meta-Suchmaschine.


MORE TO COME ...


 

GET IN TOUCH

Kontaktieren Sie mich

Thanks for submitting!